61st COPUOS STSC Session

February 1, 2024

A couple of African countries are participating in the ongoing COPUOS S&T subcommittee meeting. Statements have been made by Algeria, Egypt, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, South Africa, Sudan as well as a joint statement by the African Group.

Highlights of the statement by the Africa group include:

  •  21 countries, out of the 55 Member States of the African Union (AU) are members of COPUOS. Hence, more outreach is needed.
  • A call for African countries to integrate space activities into their national development agendas
  • A call for strengthening of legal frameworks to enhance international cooperation
  • A call to preserve access to, and peaceful use of outer space, including addressing the issues of space debris, megaconstellations and securitisation of space
  • A call for the S&T subcommittee to promote equal, non-discriminatory access to space
  • A call for closer cooperation between United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) and the African Union Commission (AUC)
  • Commendation of the new UNOOSA Vision & Strategy, and the priority given to Africa
  • A call for engagement of more Africans at UNOOSA secretariat